International Symposium on Neural Regeneration

The ISNR is a forum for the presentation and discussion of important research progress, insights and controversies important to advancing the understanding of injury responses and potential therapeutics targeting both peripheral nerve and central nervous system injuries.

The Craig H. Neilsen Foundation will again be the primary sponsor of the meeting as their funding is dedicated to supporting both programs and scientific research to improve the quality of life for those affected by and living with spinal cord injury. Mission Connect – A project of TIRR Foundation, Wings for Life, Shriner’s Hospital for Children and Rick Hansen Institute also have made a generous donations to help support this year’s meeting. An education grants from NIH-NINDS (R13) provide sadditional support.

For this year’s symposium, we will have two Keynote lecturers. Frank Bradke (DZNE, Bonn, Germany) will lead off the meeting and Kristian Franze (University of Cambridge) will anchor the meeting with a closing Keynote lecture.

Featured talks will be given by Michael McAlpine (Univ. of Minnesota), Yuh Nung Jan (UCSF), Kelly Monk (Vollum Inst, OHSU) and Linda Hsieh-Wilson (Caltech).

Following the format of preceding ISNR symposia, the program is divided into six sessions, including: 1) Axon regeneration-dynamics of dendritic or axon mRNA Translocation and protein synthesis, chaired by Os Steward; 2) Genetic dissection of axonal regeneration and degeneration, chaired by Michael Granato; 3) Young investigators improving spinal cord repair, chaired by John Gensel; 4) Exercise as a therapy for SCI: How to successfully move physical training from animal models to clinical implementation, chaired by Gordon Mitchell; 5) White matter plasticity and motor learning, chaired by Michele Basso; and 6) Matt Rasband (Baylor) will provide our Emerging Topics Lecture entitled: The functional organization of axons in neural repair and regeneration.

Please see 2017 Program Link on this page for a complete list of all invited speakers and meeting agenda.

Posters and Abstracts

Two poster sessions have been scheduled: one on Tuesday, November 28th (3-5pm) and the other on Thursday, November 30th (2-4pm).

Selected Oral Presentations – Data Blitz

Eight selected abstracts will be presented as oral presentations (10 min/each) as part of a “Data Blitz” session immediately preceding the poster sessions on Tuesday (11/28) and Thursday (11/30).

Data Blitz – Tuesday November 28th, 2:00-3:00PM

Please come back later to see list of selected speakers

Data Blitz – Thursday, November 30th, 1:00-2:00PM

Please come back later to see list of selected speakers

Travel award winners:

A completed list of travel award winners will be posted after the selection committee has finalized deliberations.

Program Planning Committee for 2017

  • Phillip Popovich – The Ohio State University (Director; current SAB member)
  • Gordon Mitchell – Univeristy of Florida (current SAB member)
  • Ona Bloom – Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine and The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research (current SAB member)
  • Elizabeth Bradbury – King’s College London (current SAB member)
  • Michael Bastiani – University of Utah (current SAB member)
  • Amy Moore– Washington University (current SAB member
  • Valeria Cavalli– Washington University (current SAB member)
  • Monica Perez– The Miami Project (current SAB member
  • David Magnuson-University of Louisville (current SAB member)
  • Jan Schwab-The Ohio State University (current SAB member)

Ex-officio representatives of co-sponsoring institutions were:

  • Naomi Kleitman – Craig H. Neilsen Foundation
  • Lyn Jakeman – NIH/NINDS (via Conference)


2017 Program